.

Medford Residents File Complaint on Green Line Extension

Two Medford residents claim project hasn't taken environmental, social aspects into account.

Medford residents Carolyn Rosen and Dr. William Wood have filed a complaint in U.S. District Court in Boston against the Massachusetts Department of Transportation and the Federal Transit Administration regarding the MBTA Green Line extension.

The complaint, filed Jan. 18, alleges those two entities "failed to adequately address environmental issues pertaining to the human environment and its natural resources in the city of Medford" in formulating the plans for the Green Line extension, according to a statment from Rosen and Wood.

In addition, the complaint "contends that civil rights of the environmental justice community and disability population of Medford have been violated throughout the Green Line Extension process," they said.

Speaking to Patch Monday, Wood said the seeds of this complaint go back many years, but ultimately felt the state and federal entities have not gone about trying to implement the extension correctly.

"We're not going to back down on it," Wood said.

Phase I of the Green Line Extension is the first step in a $1.3 billion project that, when complete, would add six new Green Line stations to the MBTA's light-rail line, extending it through Somerville to near Tufts University in Medford.

The first trains aren't expected to roll into Somerville until the completion of phase two, which will bring the Green Line to Union Square and Washington Street. That's expected to be complete by the end of 2017.

Wood said he would not consider himself an opponent of the Green Line extension. He just wants to ensure people are held accountable to it's done correctly with all concerns of those locally taken into account.

"We don't want to see our friends hurt this way," Wood said.

jennifer D. January 29, 2013 at 01:11 PM
Oh come on! People in Somerville need this & want this, so Carolyn Rosen and Dr. William Wood need to get over themselves! There is always someone out there trying to ruin a good thing for others. Just awful!
Alexandra Greene January 29, 2013 at 02:09 PM
I don't really understand what their complaints are about. Isn't a green line extension ultimately going to help rather than hurt the environment?! They must drive cars.
kevin slattery January 29, 2013 at 02:35 PM
No one understands why these people are complaining. They are just looking for attention and have nothing else to do but drive every one crazy. No wonder house prices are falling around this area. If the Green line ever does come in it will inprove the area just look at East Cambridge.
Somerville Home Owner January 29, 2013 at 02:51 PM
Dr Wood has been complaining for as long as I can remember. I have sincerely tried to understand his complaints but they never made sense to me. He likes to complain about people not listening to his complaints. What exactly is the violation and harm done to Medford residents? Please tell us.
kevin slattery January 29, 2013 at 03:49 PM
I own a house in Winter Hill the reason house prices are depressed is because we don't have a T line. I don't want to even try to understand these people who appose the green line. I guess you cant teach a mule to dance. It only upsets the mules if you try to teach him how to dance. I would pay a special assessment just to get the green line in. It would be money well spent.
kevin thomas crowley January 29, 2013 at 04:33 PM
this seems as good a place as any to congratulate and thank the citizens who have remained steadfast in their work to force the state to keep it's legal promise to extend the greenline. who knew their constancy would persuade a governor to raise taxes to fund a host transportation necessities? kudos all around.
kevin slattery January 29, 2013 at 04:52 PM
Some one tell me who to vote for to get the Green line in. Be it Republican, Democrat I don't care I just want to vote for who ever assists with the Green-line. Thomas thank you for putting everything into prospective. Optimism is the only realism thank god for the good citizens who work tirelessly to keep it's legal promise to extend the greenline.
AHM January 29, 2013 at 07:41 PM
Sorta reminds me of how Assembly Square got off track due to lawsuits from Mystic Task force delaying it by many years.
kevin slattery January 29, 2013 at 09:21 PM
Yep i had that bumper sticker on my car "Just assemble it" And look at it Assembly now despite the task force it went ahead its a big improvement from the old derelict mall. The task force were complaining about the Traffic ......Don't see any traffic jams do see property prices increasing, More tax revenue from our commercial building, More jobs, as a result of Assembly square. Its a shame that Ikea pulled the plug but they have new tenants. The new crop of self centered Green line complainers are most likely trying to get some money via Eminent domain. Its obvious that they don't have to take the crowded buses to Boston every day. I wish they would just sit on their hands or better yet do us all a favour I wish they would just move out of State.
D.James January 30, 2013 at 03:24 PM
So in plain non lawyer legal speak....What are these 2 folks mad about? Can someone explain that to me? Im being serious...
kevin slattery January 30, 2013 at 04:18 PM
It looks to me like these two like drama. Some one should buy them several episodes of Downtown Abbey or America got talent. Anything just to keep them quiet. They can hold this up with Lawyers. More tax dollars wasted again on Lawyers.
kevin thomas crowley January 31, 2013 at 01:35 PM
yeah, what are thre objections.?

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something